Research Group


Data Lab: North Campus, Space Research Building (SRB) 2028 
Phone: 734.936.0511

Steiner Research Group photo
At the wave field, Fall 2023: (front row) Maria Salazar, Kate Bartlett, (back row) Jennifer Seth, E Schwartz, Anna Schellin, Yingxiao Zhang, Daniel Huber, Allison Steiner (back)


Yingxiao Zhang
CLaSP Ph.D Candidate

B.S. Atmospheric Sciences, Nanjing University, 2019 

Email: [email protected]

Sonic anemometer

Maria Salazar
CLaSP Ph.D. Pre-Candidate

B.S. Computer Science, University of Texas, Austin, 2019

(co-advised with Gretchen Keppel-Aleks)

Email: [email protected]

E Schwartz
CLaSP Ph.D. Pre-Candidate

B.S. Environmental Engineering, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, 2021

(co-advised with Gretchen Keppel-Aleks)

Email: [email protected]

Anna Schellin
CLaSP Ph.D. Pre-Candidate

B.S. Chemical Engineering, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, 2023

Email: [email protected]

Jennifer Seth
CLaSP Ph.D. Pre-Candidate

B.S. Environmental Science and Meteorology, Iowa State University, 2023

Email: [email protected]



R. Christopher Owen (2009-2010) US EPA OAR/OAQPS/AQAD

Kirsti Ashworth (2013-2016) Lancaster University, UK

Thiago dos Santos (2017-2019) Brazil

Anahita Amiri-Farahani (2019-2021) UC Davis

Dandan Wei (2019-2021) Columbia University/CCNY

Tamanna Subba (2020-2022) Brookhaven National Laboratory

Ph.D. Students
Ahmed Tawfik (2007-2012) Data Scientist, LabCorp, Raleigh, North Carolina 

Alex Bryan (2009-2014) Integrated Environmental Data, LLC, Berne, NY

Susan Cheng (2010-2016) Manager of Diversity and Inclusion, Mechanical Engineering, UM

Stacey Kawecki (2011-2017), Flight Scientist, Champion X, Boulder, CO

Yang Li (2012-2017) Assistant Professor, Baylor University 

Matthew Wozniak (2014-2019) Bullis School, Potomac, MD

Annareli Morales (2014-2019) Weld County Department of Public Health and Environment, Colorado

Samantha Basile (2013-2019) National Climate Assessment/ICF International 

Samar Minallah (2018-2022) NCAR Advanced Study Program (ASP) Postdoctoral Fellow

Daniel Huber (2018-2023) George Washington University postdoc

M.S. Students
Kevin Kuo (2012-2013) EDF Climate Fellow

Melissa Zagorski (2010-2012) UM School of Natural Resources and the Environment

Dori Mermelstein (2013-2014) Accenture

Samantha Basile (2013-2015) CLaSP Ph.D. student, now at ICF 

Alicia Revazzo (2017) CEE M.S. student

Sakina Alblooshi (2019-2020) 

Brooke Odstrechl (2021-2023)

UM Undergraduates 

Adam Davis (2008-2010) B.S. Student, AOSS

Soyee Chiu (2009-2010) B.S. Student, AOSS

Jennifer DeHart (2009-2010) B.S. Student, AOSS

Jingyi Bao (2011-2012) B.S. Student, AOSS

Dori Mermelstein (2010-2013) B.S. Student, AOSS

Barbara Doyle (2012-2013)B.S. Student, AOSS

Jordan Swift (2014-2015) B.S. Student, AOSS

Kimberly Channel (2014-2016) B.S. Student, CLaSP

Peiyun Zhu (2015-2017) B.S. Student, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Karlie Wells (2017-2018) B.S. Student, AOSS

Sarah Hutchinson (2018-2020) B.S. Student, AOSS

Lunia Oriol (2020-2022) B.S. Student, AOSS

Kate Bartlett (2023-present) B.S. Student, AOSS

REU Advisees

Abraham Botros (Summer 2010) M.S. Student, Stanford University

Joy Cripe (Summer 2011) Western Illinois University undergraduate

Morgan McCabe (Summer 2012) New College of Florida undergraduate

Samuel Pennypacker (Summer 2014) University of Washington, Ph.D. student

Olivia Vanbuskirk (Summer 2019) Central Michigan University undergraduate

Brian Rakoczy (Summer 2021) Central Michigan University Undergraduate

Allison Salamone (Summer 2022) University of Missouri Undergraduate

Connor Seto (Summer 2023) Harvey Mudd College Undergraduate

Visiting Scientists

Hayley McIntosh (Fall 2008) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Cristina Davila Arriaga (Summer 2013) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Sao Paolo, Brazil

Thanos Tsikerdekis (May-December 2015) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Sarah Kavassalis (Sept-December 2016) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Toronto, Canada 

Vladimir Ivanov (January-July 2017) Visiting Scientist, National Institute of Geophysics, Geodesy and Geography of Bulgarian Academy of Sciences

Serafeim Kontos (June-October 2017) Visiting Graduate Student, University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Caterina Mogno (January-April 2022) Visiting Graduate Student, The University of Edinburgh, UK